Zhooibaal\’s house of the unholy

24 June 2006

Nintendo DS-Lite

Filed under: Games, Handheld, Modern, My stuff, Nintendo DS — zhooibaal @ 12:17000000

I wanted a DS from the day it was released, but never actually bought one… So now I finally decided to go and get one when the DS-Lite was being released. Officially it was being released on June 23 this year, but it was allready being actively sold on June 21 and I got mine on June 22 (my very own birthday) as my own birthday present.

Now I have it I can say only one thing: I LOVE IT! The quality of the screens is very good, the brightness is very good and can be adjusted to your personal preference. It can play both DS and GBA games. So I won’t need to bring my GBA SP when I want to be able to play those old games as well and they look quite a bit better on the DS as well.

I got 2 games with it:

  1. Animal Crossing: Wild World
  2. Brain Training

Animal Crossing

Animal Crossing
Animal Crossing is a cute little game in which you are a little guy (or girl, whatever you choose) and you live in a small town which you can give a name to yourself.
You can go out on a stroll, you can pick fruit from trees, you can talk to the other people (who are animals, hence the name of the game), you can work for people to earn money, you can buy stuff to decorate your house and so on and so on.
I don’t think there is really a point to all this and that is what makes it so funny to play, you just do your thing and it’s all very peacefull and funny. No real goals to achieve, no quests, no nothing! You just walk around, talk to people, try to make money, buy stuff with that money and so on. When playing a little longer you can unlock the multiplayer friendkey feature though, so that is something you’ll have to achieve 😛
With a friendkey you can invite a friend to come over to your town and do stuff there together, or you can be invited to visit someone else’s town and that is what it’s all about; the multiplayer feature.
All in all, I really like this game allthough it might be considered a kiddy game, but who cares about that anyway? It says ages 3 and up and I definetly fit into that catagory with my 22 years on this planet. It still means that I’m above 3 years 😀

Brain Training

Brain Training
Whoever expected that making stupid simple math problems and reading out loud would be great fun? I didn’t at first, untill I played the demo version of Brain Training. This must be on of the most original games of the past decade. No fancy graphics, no fancy effects, no spectacular action sequences… Just a math problem on 1 screen and a writing area on the other for the solution. Or a piece of text you have to read out loud on one screen and the result of the speech recognition on the other. It’s a simple as that and it’s all supposed to stimulate the brain to enhance your memory and stuff like that. I don’t know if it really works, but for some reason is really fun to do.
If you want to get a crazy game for you DS and you don’t have this one, go get it sparky!

And the DS-Lite itself

Ofcourse, where would I be with those game without having a DS? Well, like I said, I got a DS-Lite on my birthday and I love it. There are a white and a black version and I have the black one. Not much to tell about it though, just look at the pictures. Oh yeah, I also got some accesories like a carrycase and a screenprotector. I failed to apply a screenprotector to the upper screen, but that one isn’t that exposed to damage anyway, it’s the toughscreen that will damage the quickest, and luckely I managed to apply the screenprotector to that one. In the pictures it seems that it’s pretty bad looking with the screenprotector applied, but that’s only in the pictures, in real life it looks great and you don’t even notice the protector is there while playing, except for the fact that the touchscreen is a littlebit less sensitive this way, but still good enough.
Here are the pics:
DS closedDS openDS onDS carrycase
My apologies for the third picture which is really blurry, but my camera would adjust properly to it when the device was turned on, it looks a lot sharper in real life 😛

…End of line.

5 Comments »

  1. I never gave Animal Crossing: Wild World much playtime. I admire the concept behind it, though – at last, a videogame that doesn’t involve killing baddies at one point or another.

    I do think it would have been a nice touch if the DS version would have retained the NES minigames (in case you didn’t know, in Animal Crossing on the GameCube, you could collect a NES/Famicom and several game cartridges for it. Each game cartridge was an actual NES game that you could play.).

    Oh, and one more thing: Animal Crossing: Wild World is definitely NOT kiddy. While there isn’t much of a story, the conversational exchanges between characters is nothing short of witty, and some of it is very mature in tone, such as the turtle on the ferry that tries to get in your character’s pants (if you’re a girl). Anyone with a brain age below 80 will agree that Animal Crossing is definitely not your average merry-go-lucky Nintendo title, yet I won’t be surprised if noone thinks of it that way. Ah, what can you say, the masses are stupid…

    Comment by danieldematteis — 26 June 2006 @ 23:19000000

  2. I said:

    All in all, I really like this game allthough it might be considered a kiddy game, but who cares about that anyway?

    I never said it was kiddy, only that it might be considered kiddy by others and even when the conversations are sometimes witty and mature in tone, it still has a very kiddy feel to it in general. But I think a kid would get bored with it quickly as there is no clear goal, a kid won’t know what to do with it.

    Comment by zhooibaal — 29 June 2006 @ 20:12000000

  3. Pingback by Anonymous — 29 June 2006 @ 20:34000000

  4. i just baught my girlfriend a ds lite and she loves it a whole lot it is ten times better than the regukar ds

    Comment by Malcolm Maceachern — 01 August 2006 @ 2:52000000

  5. Congrats 😛

    I know it’s better than the original DS; sharper screens, adjustable brightness, better overall design and it’s more comfortable.

    Comment by zhooibaal — 01 August 2006 @ 17:57000000


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

